Acuity Scheduling
The Best AI Receptionist for Acuity Scheduling (2026)
If your salon, spa, med spa, studio, or coaching practice runs on Acuity Scheduling, the receptionist you add should book into Acuity: live, by AI, on the call. Here's how the top options really compare.
Updated August 2026 · Reviewed by the Voka AI team
The best AI receptionist for Acuity Scheduling books, reschedules, and cancels in your Acuity calendar in real time, by AI on the call, not through a public booking link, a human callback, or a one-way Zapier sync. Voka AI does all three natively on any plan, and for deposit services it texts the caller a pre-filled Acuity checkout link to confirm and pay, which is what holds the slot. Rosie books into Acuity too, but only on its higher-tier Scale plan; Smith.ai uses Acuity's public link with a human option; and Goodcall and Dialzara reach Acuity through Zapier. Voka AI is free for the first 14 days or 100 minutes, whichever comes first, with no credit card to start.
Hear Voka answer a real wellness call
A live AI receptionist taking a booking, the same flow that lands in Acuity Scheduling.
no-show rate at med spas, the highest of any business type
Zenoti Benchmark Report, 2025
median value of a single med spa appointment
Zenoti Benchmark Report, 2026
of consumers prefer calling over text or email to book healthcare visits
Hiya State of the Call, 2024
What "books into Acuity" really means
Almost every AI answering service now claims an Acuity integration. The claims hide three very different things, and only one of them actually manages your calendar:
- Native, two-way booking (what you want). The AI reads live Acuity availability and writes the appointment on the call, and can reschedule or cancel an existing one later. This is how Voka works.
- Public booking link. The AI sends the caller the same public Acuity page an online visitor would use, and the caller finishes the job themselves. It can't manage existing appointments and adds a step where callers drop off.
- One-way Zapier sync. A "Create Appointment" action fires after the call. It can't read availability in real time, usually can't reschedule or cancel, and can lag, so double-bookings and misses creep in.
Best AI receptionists for Acuity Scheduling, compared
How the most-searched options handle Acuity Scheduling specifically: native booking, reschedule and cancel, whether the AI books live during the call, deposit handling, and price.
| Feature | Voka AI | Rosie | Smith.ai | Goodcall | Dialzara |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Native Acuity Scheduling booking | two-way, any plan | Scale plan only | public link | Zapier / unverified | Zapier only |
| Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone | not stated | book only | claimed, unverified | ||
| Booked live by AI during the call | via public link | one-way sync | Zapier | ||
| Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link) | with SMS add-on | ||||
| Books group classes by phone (seat-aware) | incl. prepaid class packs | ||||
| Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link | from your live Acuity catalog | ||||
| 24/7 after-hours answering | |||||
| Approach | AI | AI | Hybrid (AI + human) | AI | AI |
| Entry pricing | From $19–$49/mo | From $49/mo ($149 for Acuity) | From $95/mo (AI plan) | From $79/mo | From $29/mo |
Voka AIRecommended
- Native Acuity Scheduling booking
- two-way, any plan
- Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone
- Booked live by AI during the call
- Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link)
- with SMS add-on
- Books group classes by phone (seat-aware)
- incl. prepaid class packs
- Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link
- from your live Acuity catalog
- 24/7 after-hours answering
- Approach
- AI
- Entry pricing
- From $19–$49/mo
Rosie
- Native Acuity Scheduling booking
- Scale plan only
- Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone
- not stated
- Booked live by AI during the call
- Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link)
- Books group classes by phone (seat-aware)
- Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link
- 24/7 after-hours answering
- Approach
- AI
- Entry pricing
- From $49/mo ($149 for Acuity)
Smith.ai
- Native Acuity Scheduling booking
- public link
- Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone
- book only
- Booked live by AI during the call
- via public link
- Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link)
- Books group classes by phone (seat-aware)
- Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link
- 24/7 after-hours answering
- Approach
- Hybrid (AI + human)
- Entry pricing
- From $95/mo (AI plan)
Goodcall
- Native Acuity Scheduling booking
- Zapier / unverified
- Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone
- claimed, unverified
- Booked live by AI during the call
- one-way sync
- Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link)
- Books group classes by phone (seat-aware)
- Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link
- 24/7 after-hours answering
- Approach
- AI
- Entry pricing
- From $79/mo
Dialzara
- Native Acuity Scheduling booking
- Zapier only
- Reschedule & cancel in Acuity by phone
- Booked live by AI during the call
- Zapier
- Deposit / no-show protection (texts checkout link)
- Books group classes by phone (seat-aware)
- Sells packages, memberships & gift certificates by text link
- 24/7 after-hours answering
- Approach
- AI
- Entry pricing
- From $29/mo
Competitor details are drawn from each vendor's own website and support docs, verified August 22, 2026. Rosie's native Acuity booking requires its higher-tier Scale plan ($149/mo), not its $49/mo entry plan. Smith.ai reaches Acuity through your public booking page and offers appointment booking as a paid add-on (not on its cheapest tier); it runs a hybrid AI + human model. Goodcall's marketing claims real-time Acuity booking, but its own integrations directory lists only Google Calendar and Outlook natively, so Acuity appears to be Zapier-mediated. Dialzara connects to Acuity through Zapier only. "Not stated" means the vendor does not publicly claim the capability. Pricing and features change, so verify current details with each vendor.
What the Acuity integration actually does on a call
Most “Acuity integration” claims stop at writing an appointment. These are the behaviors underneath, verified in the booking implementation rather than taken from a feature list:
- It speaks your actual menu, not a copy of it. Nothing about your services is baked into the assistant. On every call it reads your live Acuity catalog — service names, your prices in your own currency — and your real calendar list, skipping anything hidden or admin-only. Change a price this morning and it quotes the new one this afternoon.
- Returning clients are not asked for what you already have. Voka greets them by name rather than asking for it, and instead of asking for an email outright it offers to reuse the one already on their account. If they hold a package, it can tell them what is left on it.
- Your intake forms get answered on the call. Voka reads the fields Acuity marks required and will not complete the booking until the caller has answered them.
- Group classes, not just one-to-one appointments. Voka books a place in a group class, knows how many are left, and turns the booking down cleanly when one is full. Multi-week series are the exception: those are sent to your online page, and Voka never pretends the series doesn’t exist.
- Packages and memberships are redeemed for the caller. If they already hold a package, Voka spends it at booking — the soonest to expire first. If they don’t, they can be sent a link to buy one.
- Extras go on the booking too, from the add-on list you allow.
- Nothing is moved or cancelled on a caller’s say-so. Voka changes an existing appointment only for someone calling from a verified number, and an email address the caller reads out does not count as proof.
- Deposits are finished online, not on the phone. On Acuity, Voka hands back a pre-filled booking link rather than taking the payment itself; the caller completes it in Acuity’s own checkout.
- A long service list gets narrowed, not truncated. Past eight bookable services, Voka can offer the categories already sitting on your Acuity appointment types — “massage, facials, injectables, or something else” — instead of reading out a sample and hoping the caller recognizes one. Asking for a service by name works either way.
- What the caller mentions ends up on the appointment. A gate code, which door to use, that they’re coming straight from work and may run ten minutes late: written to the appointment’s notes field in Acuity, in their words. It is not a summary of the call, and nothing is read back to the caller.
- Phone bookings can get the text reminders your online bookings already get. Book on an Acuity page and Acuity texts a reminder; book by phone and it never did. Voka asks each caller once before booking and opts them in on a yes. Acuity sends the reminder from its own number — this is not the AI texting your clients. Because Acuity does not report the opt-in back through its API, Voka says it has asked about reminders rather than claiming they are set up; the appointment in Acuity reads “Sms Opt-in: Accepted” when a caller agreed.
- “Did my deposit go through?” gets a real answer. Voka reads back what Acuity has recorded against that caller’s appointment. It is read-only — no payment, no link, no refund — and it will never tell a caller they have not paid, because money taken at the desk or spent off a package is indistinguishable from none. With an empty record it says it cannot see a payment and offers to have the team check.
Those last four are off until the business turns them on, under Integrations → Acuity. An account that leaves them alone hears exactly what it hears today.
One deliberate limit: on Acuity, a returning caller is recognized by name and nothing more. The rest of their history could be pulled in, and isn’t, because the extra round trip would put a pause in the reply that the caller would hear.
How Voka AI books into Acuity Scheduling
Voka answers every call instantly with a natural-sounding voice, checks live availability in Acuity Scheduling, and books the slot. Callers can ask for a specific provider by name and get only that provider's real availability, and with consent Voka can text a booking link by SMS. To move or cancel later, the caller just asks and Voka updates Acuity on the spot.
Voka also collects your Acuity intake-form answers by voice, and they attach to the appointment. Confirmation emails and reminders come from Acuity itself, on the settings you already use. The same native booking works with Square Appointments, Calendly, and Google Calendar, and every call comes with an AI summary (sentiment is available as a custom insight). The Acuity integration is a $19.99/month add-on on any plan.
Protect against no-shows without losing the booking
High-value deposit and prepaid services are where a no-show hurts the most. Voka lets you keep Acuity's native deposit protection on and still take the booking by phone:
- Deposit services. Voka takes the details on the call and texts a checkout link with the service, time and caller details already filled in. The caller confirms and pays in Acuity's own checkout, and that is the step that holds the slot — so the deposit and the booking happen together rather than the deposit chasing a booking you already gave away.
- Services without a deposit are booked outright on the call. Nothing to finish online.
Payment always happens through Acuity's secure checkout, never over the phone, so you keep your deposit protection and collect up front instead of chasing a no-show. Texting the link uses Voka's SMS add-on, from $14.99/month.
Which one is right for your Acuity business?
Voka answers for the businesses Acuity is built for: med spas, hair salons, massage therapists, wellness centers, and fitness studios. If you also take Square bookings, see our Square Appointments guide, or the broader best AI voice receptionist roundup.
Choose Voka AI if…
You run on Acuity Scheduling and want an AI that answers 24/7 and actually books, reschedules, and cancels in Acuity on the call, on any plan (no Zapier, no premium tier), and can text a deposit checkout link to protect against no-shows. Starts at $19–$49/mo plus a $19.99/mo Acuity add-on, month-to-month.
Consider a competitor if…
You're already on Rosie's higher-tier Scale plan (native Acuity booking, though reschedule and cancel aren't stated), you specifically want a human receptionist handling some calls (Smith.ai's hybrid model), or a one-way Zapier "create appointment" sync is enough for your workflow (Goodcall, Dialzara).
Frequently asked questions
Yes, but only some do it natively. Voka AI connects directly to Acuity Scheduling and books, reschedules, and cancels appointments in your real Acuity calendar during the call. Many "Acuity integrations" in this category are one-way Zapier syncs (create-only), or the AI simply sends the caller your public Acuity booking link to finish the job themselves. Voka reads your live Acuity availability and writes the appointment on the call.
Voka AI can. When a caller asks to move or cancel, Voka finds their existing appointment, checks live availability, and updates it in Acuity on the call. This is where most competitors stop. They only create new appointments (often via Zapier or a public link) and cannot reschedule or cancel an existing one. Rescheduling and cancelling by phone is one of the most common reasons appointment-based businesses get calls, so it matters.
Voka keeps Acuity's native deposit protection on. For a service that takes a deposit, Voka gathers the details on the call and, with the SMS add-on enabled, texts the caller a checkout link that already has their service, time and details filled in — they confirm and pay in Acuity's own checkout, which is what secures the slot. That differs from a service without a deposit, which Voka books outright during the call. It also differs from Square, where Voka raises a real Square invoice against a booking it has already made. Payment is never read out over the phone, so you keep Acuity's deposit protection and collect up front instead of chasing a no-show.
Voka AI can read it back, if you switch the capability on. It reports what Acuity has recorded against that caller's appointment — a deposit, a payment in full, or a booking already marked paid on a package or gift certificate. It is read-only: it cannot take a payment, send a payment link, or issue a refund, and callers only ever reach their own appointments, matched to the number they are calling from. One deliberate limit: it will never tell a caller they have not paid. A payment taken at the front desk, spent off a package, or collected any way Acuity never saw looks identical to no payment at all, so with nothing on the record Voka says it cannot see a payment and offers to have the team check.
Voka AI can, if you switch the capability on. Bookings made on your Acuity page are opted in to Acuity's text reminders; bookings taken by phone never were, which is why phone appointments are the ones most likely to be forgotten. Voka asks each caller once before booking — "Would you like text reminders about your appointment?" — and opts the booking in when they say yes, never on a reschedule. Acuity sends the reminders from its own number, so this is not the AI texting your clients and it does not use an SMS add-on; it does need an Acuity plan that includes text messaging. Because Acuity does not report the opt-in back through its API, Voka says it has asked about reminders rather than claiming they are set up — the appointment in Acuity shows 'Sms Opt-in: Accepted' when a caller agreed.
Yes. Callers can ask for a specific staff member or provider by name, and Voka offers only that provider's real Acuity availability so you never get double-booked. Voka also collects your Acuity intake-form answers conversationally over the phone, and the responses attach to the appointment. (File uploads and signature fields still have to be completed online, not by voice.)
No. Acuity Scheduling is booking software. It manages your calendar and sends its own confirmation emails and reminders based on your settings, but it does not answer inbound phone calls with a conversational AI voice. To answer calls live and book into Acuity, you add a dedicated AI receptionist like Voka AI on top of your Acuity account.
Not with Voka AI. It has a native, two-way Acuity Scheduling integration, so there is no Zapier in the loop. Some competitors reach Acuity only through Zapier, which is typically one-way (create-only) and can lag, making live reschedules and cancellations unreliable. A native connection is what lets the AI read real-time availability and manage existing appointments on the call.
Voka AI voice plans run from $19/month (pay-as-you-go) and $49/month (Light, 100 minutes) up to $229/month (Commit, 1,200 minutes); the most popular plan is Flex at $89/month with 300 minutes. The Acuity Scheduling integration is a $19.99/month add-on available on any plan, and SMS (for texting booking or deposit checkout links) starts at $14.99/month. All plans are month-to-month with no contract.
Yes. Voka AI is free for 14 days or 100 minutes of real calls, whichever comes first, with no credit card to start — you verify your business phone number instead. Forward your line when you are ready and unforward any time. Continuing takes a card; plans start at $19/month, month-to-month.
Hear your Acuity receptionist answer a call.
Set it up, connect Acuity Scheduling, and listen in minutes. No contract.
Competitor information is drawn from publicly available vendor pages and support docs and is subject to change; verify current details with each vendor.